Profirm is a private compliance firm, not a government agency.EnglishEspañolFrançais
Head to head

Profirm vs Vertical Identity

Two DOT drug and alcohol consortiums compared on price, testing, languages and what else each can do for a small carrier. Vertical Identity facts observed on its public site in September 2026. Where they are better, we say so.

Last updated 2026-09-21. Publishes per-driver consortium pricing and a flat per-test price.

LineProfirm USAVertical Identity
Consortium price$99 per year, owner-operator; $30 each additional driver85 USD first driver, 25 USD each additional
Test price$79 per random test; $49 breath alcohol69 USD per test
Prices publishedYesYes
Online enrollmentYesNot verified
Random pool rates50% drugs, 10% alcohol (FMCSA minimum)Ask the vendor
Clearinghouse queries$15 annual, $25 full, FMCSA fee includedNot verified
SpanishYes (and French)No
IFTA filingYes, $75 per quarter, 1 to 3 trucksNot verified
USDOT and authority registrationYes, $99 and $199 plus government feesNot verified
Cross-border (Canada and US)Yes, since 1988No
ReviewsNew US site, no score yetNo profile found
Founded1988Not verified

"Not verified" means Vertical Identity's public pages did not state it when we checked; it is not a "no". Profirm prices include the SAMHSA laboratory, MRO review and, for queries, the 1.25 USD FMCSA fee. Consortium membership has no government fee at either vendor.

Credit where due

Where Vertical Identity is stronger

  • Transparent per-driver pricing. Vertical Identity publishes 85 USD for the first driver and 25 USD for each additional, which is simple to model for a small fleet.
  • Cheaper additional drivers. At 25 USD, each extra driver costs 5 USD less per year than at Profirm.
  • Lower per-test price. 69 USD per test, 10 USD less than Profirm's random test.
  • US-based. Vertical Identity is a US company; Profirm USA is the American arm of a Canadian firm.
Our side

Where Profirm is stronger

  • Lower first-driver membership. $99 versus 85 USD is close; the gap is in what is bundled around it.
  • One desk for the rest. Profirm also files USDOT and authority, UCR, IFTA, NY HUT and weight-distance returns. Vertical Identity's public pages did not state IFTA or registration when we checked.
  • Spanish and French service. Vertical Identity does not offer Spanish on its site.
  • Cross-border. Quebec and Ontario carriers running into the US since 1988. Vertical Identity does not claim Canada and US expertise.
  • Clearinghouse queries at $15 per driver including the FMCSA fee, from the same account as the consortium.
Decision

Who should pick which

Pick Vertical Identity. Pick Vertical Identity if you run a small fleet, only need the consortium and testing, and want the lowest per-test and per-additional-driver price on the market with published numbers.

Pick Profirm. Pick Profirm if you want the consortium plus registration, IFTA and permits handled together, or if you need Spanish, French or cross-border service. On the consortium alone the two are close; the difference is everything around it.

Either way, ask both the same four questions: what alcohol testing rate they run, what a test costs, whether government fees are separated, and who answers the phone. The full comparison covers nine vendors on the same terms.

Profirm vs Vertical Identity: questions

Which is cheaper for one driver?

On membership, Profirm at $99 versus Vertical Identity at 85 USD. On tests, Vertical Identity at 69 USD versus Profirm at $79. For one driver with one pre-employment test and roughly half a random test per year, the totals are within a few dollars. Pick on service, not on that gap.

Which is cheaper for five drivers?

Membership: Profirm $219 versus Vertical Identity 185 USD. Tests at the FMCSA minimum rates (about 2.5 drug and 0.5 alcohol per year for five drivers): Profirm $222 versus Vertical Identity about $207 if alcohol tests are priced the same as drug tests. Close again. Ask both what alcohol rate they run.

Does Vertical Identity file IFTA or USDOT registration?

We did not find it stated on their public pages in September 2026, so we mark it "not verified" rather than "no". Ask them. Profirm files both.

Does either offer Spanish?

Vertical Identity does not on its site. Profirm serves carriers in English, Spanish and French by phone and email, and has a Spanish site at /es/.

Can I move my drivers from Vertical Identity to Profirm?

Yes. Enroll, receive the certificate the same day, update the C/TPA designation in the Clearinghouse, and cancel the old membership. Prior test records stay with the old C/TPA; request copies for your files before you close the account.

Want your year total from both, side by side?

Tell us your driver count. We send the Profirm total with tests and queries included, and the questions to ask the other vendor so you compare like with like.